So do you Sew?

Sorry it’s been SO long since I’ve been here.  Life has been getting in the way!  But here I am!

For those of you who don’t know I love to sew!  I’ve been doing it since I was 5 and have made everything you could think of.  I’ve been slowly teaching J how to sew and it hit me, if she’s interested then my Girl Scout troop must be interested.  So here’s the project we’ve been working on the last 2 weeks.

So I first started with the basics – here’s a needle, this is the eye.  Thread the needle, make a knot.  Then I taught them a simple straight stitch, then a whip stitch and then we sewed a button on a piece of felt.  With that mastered – well kind of – we moved to our project!

One of my scouts had made a hipster purse using foam paper and staples – what inspiration!  So I came up with a felt heart purse! I outlined the heart on felt and made the girls cut it out so they would understand that when it comes to patterns they need to cut out the fabric.  Then using the whip stitch they sewed the two heart pieces together up the sides of the heart.

Then using lace for the strap, they sewed each side reinforcing it a few times.

So much fun!  The girls really had a great time with this.  One scout sewed a monogram of a “K” on the front of her heart completely on her own.  Of course my mind completely went to cross stitching and maybe embroidering in their future!!  What a great project!  Sewing alone is such a lost craft that everyone needs to bring back.  I’m hoping this will lead to quilting and making their own clothes!  So what have you sewn lately?  Leave me a comment !!  Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place