Faux Tile Technique with a little distress!

Hi All!  Back and ready to go!  Finally able to finish the distressing project I’d been working on before getting sick this weekend and a new technique – faux tile!  Have you seen it?  It gives a really neat look to a card by using a lot of different techniques you may already know how to use.

First I stamped the card using the SU Mixed blossom stamp – I love the detail in this stamp! -in Night of Navy.  Then I used the word script stamp in the Charming stamp set and stamped in Pretty in Pink.  Now my first real distressing, I used Early Espresso to distress this card and I honestly think Early Espresso might be too dark for distressing.  I think I’m going to get the Soft Suede or Tim Holt’s light brown Distress ink and try it again.  Also I usually use a sponge to distress and I think I might get Tim Holt’s distress tool – we’ll see.

Here’s the faux tile technique – ready – first I pulled out my score pad and scored the card at every 1 inch, turned the card and scored every 1 inch again.  This created the tiles.  Then I used Versamark and Clear embossing powder and embossed it.  That’s it!  Amazing – two steps and it turns an ok card into a really great card!  I think it gives it a very Mediterranean tile look!  I love how it looks!  Give it try!

Have a very Magical Day!

Tinalala

OK – having trouble loading my picture today.  I will post it as soon as I can!!

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

