Challenge day!

So I decided this week that I would find a challenge and make it and post it by Thursday.  This week’s challenge is coming to us from the Cuttlebug Spot. http://www.thecuttlebugspot.blogspot.com/

This week’s challenge is an Easel card.  Well I’ve never made an easel card before so I thought, ok let’s try it!  A friend of mine fell in her garden and hurt herself so I thought a get well card was what I needed to make.  So here it is!

I think it came out amazingly!  I love this card base which is the Doily #21 from the Wild Card Cricut cartridge.  I cut the card in base cardstock at 4″  and then cut the card again in the card stock you want as a cover.  I cut one side of the card for the front.  Then I scored one side of the card in half.  This will be the fold base for the cover.  Then I cut the pink stock in a large circle and a cranberry stock frame.  I wrapped the pink stock in cherry cobbler twine.  I cut a circle scallop in cranberry stock, ac circle in white card stock.  Then I stamped a flower from the Mixed Bunch stamp set in pretty in pink and adhered it to the cover and placed a pearl on the center.

Now your easel needs a stopper so I punched a white circle and stamped it with “get well soon” from the Delightful Dozen stamp set in Raspberry.  Then I didn’t have a scallop punch large enough for this circle so I made one by punch 3 1″ scallop punches, cutting them in half and then aligning them around the back of the circle punch.  Then adhere it to the base using Dimensionals.

The butterfly was made by using a flower from the Mixed Bunch stamp set in raspberry.  Then I used the Blossom punch and I cut out the top two petals.  This makes a lovely butterfly adhered with Dimensionals.

It took me about 2 hours to make this card because I couldn’t figure out what color to use for the center of the card, but once pink was selected I think it came out great!! Of course it won’t take you that long, but I challenge you to make your own easel card!  Can’t wait to see what next week’s challenge is.  I hope it makes her and you happy!  Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kerry Lamsdale
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:49:12

    I really like the circular easel cards and you’ve made a pretty one. Thanks for joining in at the Cuttlebug Spot this week.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place