A Fresh Summer idea

So I saw the new Freshly Made Sketch #41 and for some reason all I could think about was SUMMER! I don’t know why!  So I took this sketchand made this:

The sandcastle was cut at 3 1/2 and is from the Create a Critter Cricut cartridge.  The sand paper at the bottom was stock paper I bought at Michaels and cut it at 3X4.  The waves were formed by using a Versa Mark marker and white embossing powder.  I did this multiple times to make sure it really looked like waves.  Then I curled each side so it looked like waves crashing on the shore.  The sky was done using three scallop circles glued together and sponging around the scallops to make the cloud effect.

Then I showed the card to a friend and she and I agreed – it needed something!  The first thing we thought of was a plane carrying the banner across the sky!  Just like you see when you’re at the beach!  Well I didn’t have a plane stamp so what I did was cut and paste the plane picture, printed it on card stock, cut it out and pasted it on.  This is a great image of how sometimes you need to think outside the box!

Then we looked at the sandcastle – Hubby kept saying – you need to make it look like sand!  Where’s the grit of the sand?  So down into the craft card cave I went.  I embossed it with a bubbles folder and used Early Espresso and Tea Dye Distress Ink.

I think this card came out great!  I like the fact that it took me outside my comfort zone and made me try new things in order to create the summer image in my head!  Hope the sketch inspires you too!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanette Camara Mitchell
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 19:44:58

    So fun and creative! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  2. annschach
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 17:29:08

    How cute and creative! A summertime card for sure! Thanks for playing with Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. Linda Bierman Callahan
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 16:39:45

    Your sand castle is so cute! And the plane flying overhead is just like being at the beach! Thanks for joining us at FMS!

  4. Jennifer Rohrer Timko
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 12:13:01

    This is absolutely adorable! I love the texture on you sand castle! Glad you joined us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place