Pleasant Poppies!

So with some of the craziness in the Lala household finally coming down I’m finally getting back into the swing of things and was able to get down to the Craft cave and do some crafting!  I was checking the Freshly Made Sketches the other day and when I saw  Sketch #46 the first thing that popped into my head was – Poppies!   So here’s the sketch!

And here’s the card I came up with!

I planted poppies this spring and loved the orange colors.  When I saw the Pleasant Poppy stamp I knew I had to get it.  I couldn’t resist using some summer colors – Calypso Coral, Daffodil Delight and Lucky Limeade.  I colored the flowers themself with the Calypso Coral, then used a blender pen to remove the ink from the center of the flowers and from any of the stems because I wanted them to be green.  I then used the blender pen to add the colors from the ink pad to the stamp.  I love how the colors seemed to blend together naturally.

I struggled on what color to use as the background, but I thought the Calypso Coral would really pull out the colors on the flowers.  I used a Recollection flower border punch on the Daffodil Delight cardstock and topped it off with the Lucky Limeade.

I think it’s a simple and cute card.  Hope you have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Hall
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 18:44:13

    This is such a beautiful card! Wonderful job with the poppies, and I love the colors you used. Thanks for sharing with us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

  2. Allisa Chilton (@RockyMtnPaper)
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 15:28:13

    Love the colors, really think I am going to have to order that stamp! Thanks for playing with us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. booptique
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 08:24:52

    REALLY nice summer card! Well done, LaLa!

  4. Jennifer Brum
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 22:16:48

    What a lovely card! I really love those poppies and think I’m starting to kick myself for not ordering that one!!! Your card is so summery and happy looking! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place