Stick to it!!

As I stood in the adhesive aisle at Michaels today trying to figure out what I want to buy during the Tax Free weekend I realize, “If I didn’t know what I needed/wanted this could be very confusing!”  So I thought you might want to get some explanation of what all these adhesives are.

So here’s the adhesives I really like.

1. Advanced Tape Glider or ATG gun.  These tape guns average about $40 and hold about 85 inches of rolled tape.  Besides the amount of tape available, the benefits of this ATG gun are that it is refillable and uses either general purpose tape or an Acid Free tape.  It’s great for big projects or to adhere the top layer of a card to its base.  ATG guns are a little difficult to refill, but you can watch videos on Youtube on how to.  You can find ATG guns at any craft store and you can use coupons to reduce the cost!

Xyron has a great Mega Runner with 100 feet of Adhesive that’s smaller and is refillable.

2. Glue Dots – These little blobs of glue can be found in various sizes and have various uses.  They are great for adhering embellishments to cards or mats to work spaces.  They have so many uses outside of just carding it‘s amazing.  There‘s about 200 in a box and they average about $5.

3. EK Success 2-Way Glue pen – In my mind the best mini glue pen for adhering little pieces together.  Perfect for when you’re doing paper piecing or adding some glue to an edge that you missed.  You push the tip of the pen down on the table and as the glue flows down the tip turns blue and you know you pen is ready for use.  As you use the pen on surfaces the glue is blue but then dries clear and stays sticky for sometime.  Great for those little pieces you have like when you’re paper piecing like when using your Cricut.

4. Tacky Tape – This odd red tape is one of the strongest tapes you’ll find for adhering cardstock.  Perfect for boxes or bags, because it’s double sided and super strong.  The biggest issue with this tape is that you need to have a sharp pair of scissors to cut the pieces.  I recommend a separate pair of scissor just for cutting this tape.

5. Mod Podge – lots of people use various types of glue like Tombow, but I like Mod Podge for so many reasons.  I use it for my cards, crafts and household use!  It’s a great glue that dries clear in either a matte or gloss finish.  I pour it into an empty plastic container based on my use so I can dip into it as I need.  You can get a 16 oz jar for about $8.

6. Temporary or Permanent Adhesives – I laugh as I type this because the first time I tried to purchase an adhesive I accidentally bought a temporary adhesive.  I was very frustrated with the adhesive when I used it on my cardstock because the pieces were always falling off.  It wasn’t until I read in another blog that there was such thing as temporary adhesive and I realized my mistake.  It got me to asking Why would you need temporary adhesive?  Now I know.  Temporary adhesive is used for things like the Triple take stamping (my Matt cards) or when you’re sponging or just putting a card together and you’re not sure what you want.  These types of adhesives are small and can be refillable and are usually about $5, but don’t have the same amount of tape as the ATG gun.  There are so many different types of adhesives out there and you might hear them called Snails.

Now I know there are TONS of other adhesives out there, but these are the ones I use the most.  There are spray adhesives and Heat adhesives that people use on projects, but so far I haven’t had much use.  I suggest you try various products until you find the ones that work best for you.  Hope this helped you! I’d love to hear what your favorite adhesive is!!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place