I’ve been Framed!

So while looking at the SU Holiday Catalogue I fell in love with the Ornament Keepsake ornament on the front of the catalogue, as I’m sure you did too.  And I’m sure everyone thought oh I have to make that for my tree or a gift, but all I could think was – my Girl Scout troop has to make that to sell at our Holiday Fair to raise money for our NY Finger Lakes trip!  I know I have issues!!  So I bought the Framelit bundle!

Let me explain SU uses these things called Framelits – that are small metal frames in different shapes that when placed between two Plexiglas plates and run thru a Big Shot or Cuttlebug will cut paper perfectly.  I don’t understand it!  So down to the Craft Cave I went to do a simple card to see how much enjoyment this framelit process could be.  First I realized that when you use white cardstock without stamping anything specific you could cut multiple layers by folding the cardstock.  Perfect when using a basic 12” by 12” paper – fold every 3″ and you could cut 4 at a time.  Timesaver!!

So here’s my card that I created that will be my Christmas card this year.

 

I cut the bottom white layer using my Cricut Accent Essentials Cartridge on page 79 at a size of 4”.  The ornaments are stamped using SU Real Red ink and Martha Stewart candy cane Baker’s twine to ‘hang’ the ornaments.  The embossing on the diamond piece, the sentiment and the edging of the ornament is actually SU Pewter embossing powder – which I L O V E!!    I now have Pewter sparkles all over my nails from it!  Of course I had to sprinkle a little pixie dust around the ornaments with the Dazzling Diamonds and the bottom layer was embossed with a Sizzix snowflake folder.  I think it came out awesome!!  It was exactly what I was trying to make.  The framelits weren’t too difficult to use, but I definitely needed a small post it note to keep them still on my plate, otherwise they moved around.

I can’t wait to make the ornament now!! Wait to see what I make for Halloween!!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place