Bridesmaid turned Corpse Bride MD style – part 1

When I was a child we always had to make our Halloween costumes and we’ve continued that tradition in the Lala household for years.  Well last year in a weak moment we allowed the girls to BUY their costumes at a ridiculous amount of $40 each!!  So this year I said no way and told them both to come up with ideas of how they were going to make their costumes.  Now when I say “they make” that really means: they come up with the idea and MOM makes!  So today we’re going to focus on MD’s idea!

She wants to be a Corpse Bride – we love Tim Burton and Johnny Depp.  So off to Savers we went to find a wedding dress.  NOPE!  Well she was pretty frustrated and ready to give up when I saw this bridesmaid dress from the 90s.  Once I saw it I knew what I was going to do!  I’m going to post the before, during and after process so you can enjoy/cry/laugh along with me as I create!

Here’s what I got – the bridesmaid dress, a white stain sheet thing, a bed skirt and a lace curtain. Pictures –

  Now I don’t know the ending to this story, but I pray that it is something beautiful and scary but most importantly something MD is going to love!  Right now everything (but the dress) is in the wash.  I’m going to work on it this weekend so hopefully I will have a somewhat finished product by Monday.  Oh did I mention MD loves this bridesmaid dress and doesn’t want me to ruin it – right!

Ok I can hear you ‘how the heck are you going to get this done by Halloween – well did I mention J also purchased something that needs homemade work done on it – YUP – shot myself in the foot! She’s Clown turned Fairy – oh yeah there will be posts and pictures!!

So I’d love to hear about your best homemade costumes – trust me I was a hobo for 5 year straight!  Oh and did I mention I’m also planning a GS sleepover in 2 weeks and I’m traveling to Baltimore for work for a week of training – NICE!  MD keeps saying – you have a week what’s the big deal – 🙂 So glad I’m teaching her how to sew her pointe shoes soon!!

Have a Magical and Spooky Day!Mickey Mouse Halloween

Tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place