Snowman gift card holder

Usually I don’t like to give gift cards but this year everyone asked for one so I said sure.  Then afterwards I realized how the heck am I going to give these cards and still be in the holiday spirit? So I searched Pinterest and Youtube and found a gift card holders that I like I thought I’d show you my favorite one.

1208121653[1]

Isn’t he cute!

His face shape is from the Accent Essential Cricut cartridge on page 79, or you can use the Stampin Up Top Note Bigz die.  I cut two in white and one in black and then cut the black one about ½” below the dimple to make the hat.  The face, first I cut 2 eyes in black using the ½” circle, 5 circles in black for his mouth using a ¼” circle and then I cut the end of the Pennant punch triangle in orange and then cut it for a carrot nose.  Since he’s made of snow and should be very cold, I sponged touches of coldness around his face using Pool Party and then kissed his cheeks with Pretty in Pink.  Little details like the sparkles in the eyes and the little lines on his nose really help to bring him to life!  For his hat I cut two star flowers from the Accent Essential Cricut cartridge on page 57 or you could have used one of the many flower dies from Stampin Up; one in red and one in green with a mini flower punched out of white.  The flower was all pulled together with a mini brad and a sparkly red sticker on top.  The green gingham ribbon added to the hat gives the vintage touch I was looking for along with the Merry sentiment from the Snowflake Soiree stamp set punched using the Decorative Label punch.

Now for the inside!!

1208121653a[1]

So I cut a piece about 4 X 8 1/2 in white.  I folded it in half and then folded that in half.  First I glued the first fold only on the corners.  Then I glued the ends to the top and to the bottom so the original fold ‘popped’ in the middle.  Then I cut the middle using a square punch and made the opening wide enough for a gift card.  Since you only glued the corners your gift card should slide in nicely!  The inside sentiment was stamped in Garden Green and is from the Christmas Lodge set.

I know my Sister in Law is going to LOVE this gift card holder!!  Now to make a Reindeer!!  Or Santa!!

Hope this helped you!  Have a Magical Day!!

Tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gail Susan Burek
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 12:20:27

    love it…going up to the crap room to make it now. Maybe not the inside because I get befuddled with directions. hope to come to you house for the stampin up group meeting (if you don’t mind).
    Sue B.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place