It’s Challenge Time!

I’ve been kind of in a holiday slump lately.  I don’t know if it’s leftover from when I traveled before Thanksgiving and came home to a child with pneumonia, getting tonsillitis and realizing I hadn’t even purchased a single present for Christmas yet or what it is, but I’m just not in the holiday spirit.  Oh our tree is up!  1209122051[1]We’ve gone to see a wonderful play of The Trial of Ebenezer Scrooge by the Attleboro Community Theater group, which was fantastic.  I’m just not there yet.

So when I’m stuck I take on a challenge and this week’s challenges are from The Paper Player and it’s a color challenge and Freshly Made Sketches.

Honestly I dislike color challenges more than the sketch ones because I don’t like to be told what colors to use so I forced myself to do it.   Well I love Pool Party and I have used Real Red so much this year my fingers are always red and Natural, well that said Crumb Cake to me and I’m just starting to really enjoy that color.  However those colors certain don’t go together in my head.  But it wouldn’t be called a challenge if it was easy!!

I pulled out my recently purchased Snowflake Soiree and the Heat and Stick powder and all I could think of was how Pool Party made a perfect snowflake with Dazzling Diamonds embossed on it with a pearl in the center.  Then I realized that this snowflake could be perfectly punched out with the Blossom punch!  So I started with a blue Blossom punched snowflake.

Card #1 – I knew this card had to be clean and easy.  So I stamped a few Pool Party snowflakes on white cardstock, cut a Real Red tag, using my square punch to cut the end and found some natural twine to tie it all together and bring in the natural color.  I slid the base card stock over to the right so the banner had a different look and stamped the sentiment from the Snowflake Soiree to finish it up.  Nice and clean.1210122013[1]

However then I realized if I could collage stamp these snowflakes – that’s when you stamp images on top of each other to tell a story – kind of – I could make a distressed vintage looking card with these snowflakes.

Card #2 – Using all three colors I stamped snowflakes all around the card.  I used Crumb Cake to distress color the edge of the card and then I actually crumpled the base card.  Interesting! I wanted the Real Red tag to still be on the card but in a different way so I angled it down.  I stamped the Comfort & Joy sentiment which was a part of the single stamp promotion and punched it out with the Decorative Punch, which I got during the Stampin Up Black Friday sale on Real Red with black Staz on.1210122014[1]

Now I have 2 cards using the colors in the challenge that are completely different looks and now I have to figure out which card to submit.  I’ve polled my friends and family today and I think I’m going to submit the distressed card #2.  The prize is really more bragging rights, which are alright with me.  The personal prize is taking on the challenge and coming out with a card that makes me happy!

I hope this encourages you to take a challenge and surprise yourself by coming up with something amazing!  You can do it!!

I hope at least one of them makes you happy too!  Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Brum
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 18:58:30

    Very lovely card! I do love those snowflakes! Love the sparkle and the fun colours! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  2. Linda Bierman Callahan
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 22:48:15

    Your snowflakes are beautiful – love the extra sparkle! Thanks for joining us at FMS!

  3. booptique
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 06:36:32

    SO funny!! I was inspired by some wrapping paper I saw while shopping yesterday and THOSE were the color!! To me, it is true vintage Christmas. I love both the cards but being a bit of a distress girl, the second is my favorite! You won, in my book!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place