Why Wait?

Some of you may know Stampin Up has a new catalogue coming out on May 31, 2013.  One of the items in the new catalogue is a Button & Blossom Clay mold (I’m not giving you anything new or confidential.  The Sneak peeks have been all over the internet with it!).  This mold will enable you to make your own clay button and flower embellishments and color them using your markers or reinkers.

Of course I’m impatient and thought I could do this myself! I grabbed the FIMO clay and a SU button and started on my way.  I rolled the clay into a ball and patted it down like a fat pancake.  With the top of the button down, I pushed the button into the clay until it was submerged so the bottom of the button was level with the top of the clay.  IMG_0965

I waited a few seconds, honestly just to build my confidence that it was going to work!!  I carefully pulled the button out and there was a perfect impression of my button inside the clay.  IMG_0966

I cooked the clay per the packaging and let it cool.  I rolled some white clay into a ball.  IMPORTANT PART RIGHT HERE – I dusted the mold with baby powder.  I know that clay will stick to itself cooked or not, so you have to put something inside the mold to be able to get the clay out.  I tried using my Embossing Buddy like I’ve seen on Youtube videos, but the cornstarch didn’t seem to work.  So I smooshed clay into the mold until it was almost equal to the top of the mold.IMG_0968

Ok here’s where I got crazy – I put the mold inside the frig.  I don’t know why exactly – saw it in a video – thought it might help – I don’t really know.  I cooked the mold/clay per the packaging and the let it cool.  Then of course life got in the way and I had to run to a meeting, but 3 hours later it had cooled and I was able to carefully pull it out of the mold.

First let me say that with the cornstarch pulling the clay out of the mold with a butter knife wasn’t a pretty picture.  The first two epic failures! The third time SUCCESS!IMG_0967

I have to say not the best resource.  I’m really looking forward to this new mold because it’s made of silicone or something so it will be flexible when pulling the clay out of the molds!  However think of the possibilities this mold could give us!  Color and make our own embellishments at half the price! AWESOME!

P.S. – no I’m not a demonstrator, so any reference to Stampin Up is only because I enjoy the products.  Thanks Betty & Janice!  If you want to purchase anything I’ve talked about, go to Betty’s site:http://www.stampinup.net/esuite/home/bettyboop/blog

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    May 03, 2013 @ 17:28:56

    Live from Fiji…you SHOuLD be a demo…we WILL talk! Love your buttons!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place