Challenge Time!

Well I thought I’d throw a few challenges at myself and of course in rushing to make a card I missed the deadline for one of the challenges.  Does that happen to you sometimes?  You make a card for something specific for someone, put the card down and then completely miss the event! 

Today’s post is an entry into the SUOChallenge #74 – Favorite Stampin Up! Accessories AND Clean and Simple Challenge #12 – Christmas in July!  Here it is:

Petite Pairs6

SUOChallenge #74 – Favorite Stampin Up! Accessories  – Well my favorite accessories are buttons and twine.  Mostly buttons then twine.  It saddens me to put a button on a card because I hoard them!  So for this challenge I pulled out a retired Brights Designer Button and some Cherry Cobbler twine and made this cute Christmas card for another challenge that for the life of me I can’t remember which one.

Clean and Simple Challenge #12 – Christmas in July! – I actually pulled out all kinds of retired Holiday DS paper to make this Holiday card since we can’t use anything from the new Holiday Stampin Up Catalogue until August 1st!  The top piece is from the retired Candlelight Christmas DSP, the 2 3/8 Scallop punch is from the retired Festival of Prints DSP and the bottom mat is a piece from the retired Merry Moments Simply Scrappin set.

I love how the Cherry Cobbler and the retired Lucky Limeade work together.  This card was also a personal challenge for me because I used multiple patterns of DSP on one card.  My goal this year is to use patterned DS paper as much as possible because I seem to be using only solid colors all the time.  I need to spice it up with some patterned paper!

Well I hope you enjoy a little Christmas in July with my favorite accessories – buttons and twine!

Have a Magical Day!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly K
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 16:49:39

    Such a lovely card! Thanks for playing with us at CAS on Sunday! 🙂

  2. Betty
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 22:12:09

    Christmas in July??! So very jealous. Really love the baker’s twine….and a bow on the button….you must really like the recipient of this card!

  3. Julie Gearinger
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 23:09:15

    What a wonderful Christmas in July card!! Love the use of the retired DSP-you are right- Cherry Cobbler and Lucky Limeade are a great color combination!! What creative treatment for the button and twine- I love (and hoard -lol!) buttons as well but struggle with how to add to a card 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration and sharing with us at SUO Challenges!!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place