The Open Sea in a Bottle?

Before I purchase any stamp set or accessory I skim through the Internet via Pinterest or SplitcoastStampers for ideas on how to use the stamp set in multiple ways.  I recently purchased The Open Sea stamp set from Stampin up because I liked the masculine qualities it had for birthday cards, but I also like the adventure theme of the stamp.  Plus J thought the ship looked like a Pirate ship!

Out on Pinterest one of the pins was this fantastic ship in a bottle that I had to CASE.  CASE means to Copy And Steal Everything – which is exactly what I did.  I have searched on Pinterest to find the original owner to give credit to but sadly there’s no link.  Here’s my card:

 Open Sea

I love how this card came out!  It’s the perfect combination of rustic seafaring with a pull to an adventure unknown.  The bottle was actually cut from the Create a Critter Cricut Cartridge item #37 – the milk bottle cut at 4” on Crumb Cake SU cardstock. I stamped the boat in Staz On, but used Sticky Notes to mask the water on the stamp.  I used a Blender pen with Crumb Cake and White Craft ink to make the shadowing details on the sails.  For the water I used Midnight Muse and Island Indigo to give the water a bit of intensity.  For the sky I used White Craft ink and Pool Party to give the sky some depth like you were really looking into the bottle.  Then the entire bottle was sponged in Chocolate Chip to really give it an aged depth look.

The background pieces were an Off white Recollection cardstock stamped with Crumb Cake and the map, the anchor that was stamped on Midnight Muse and a piece of Crumb Cake.  The compass was actually Crumb Cake, Brown and Off white Recollection cardstock and stamped in Midnight Muse.  The sentiment is from the Elements of Style set stamped in Midnight Muse.

I love how this card came out.  I actually made two of the bottles because I liked the detailing on the ship.  I think I know a little girl who might want her own Pirate Ship in a bottle!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

PS – we have less than 50 days until our Magical vacation!  I better get crackin on those autograph book pages!

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place