Mixed Media Canvas

Lately I have been addicted to mixed media canvas art.  The concept of telling a story thru art and design really inspires me.  So I purchased some canvases, Gesso, paint brushes and got to work.

Here’s what I came up with.

IMG_1184

So first I painted the canvas with gesso.  Then I painted the entire canvas with green acrylic paint.  I used Mod Podge to glue down various pieces of paper.  I used the Very Vintage wheel and Staz-on and wheeled it all over the canvas. I used a pink, purple and yellow acrylic paint from my stash.  The key and various molds were made with a glue gun and the Mod Podge molds.

IMG_1185 IMG_1186

The lace, flower and beads were from my stash.

What did I learn – you can paint glue gun glue.  For me I need to have a theme or a story to make me happy about my canvas.  The biggest thing I learned was that Mixed Media has no rules.  When you finish it should be something that makes other happy, it should make you happy.

I’m not totally happy with it, but I learned so much with this first piece.  I dare you to take a piece of cardboard and see what you can come up with!!  Have fun – no rules!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 13:40:43

    I love the mixed media…never seem to get it together and make one though. I love the one you made.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place