Mixed Media – Lovely Fairy

Here I am again with another Mixed Media Canvas.  This one is called Lovely Fairy:

IMG_1188

OK right off the bat I’m sure you noticed – there’s no fairy.  I know.  I was thinking what would I like to see in the world if I was a fairy.  Hey you have to start somewhere!  I used a lot of different techniques here.  First I used the Very Vintage Wheel with Staz On all over the place, but specifically to get the butterfly.  Then I stamped and cut out the butterfly from the Elements of style set.  He was then colored pink and I topped him off with Crystal effects.  The flowers are the suede effect flower and Stampin up clay mold flowers all in Primrose Petals, Rich Razzleberry and pink acrylic paints.  The crown is a stamp I found in Michael’s dollar section and cut out.  The dragonfly is from a stencil I found and I used a paste compound to make him stand out, then toped him off with Crystal effects.  The gold buttons are from my stash.  The green swirl is cut from Accent Essentials.  The entire canvas is framed with Blushing Bride Pleated ribbon.

IMG_1189 IMG_1190

I have to say this is the prettiest canvas I’ve done so far.  I love the mix of colors – yellow, pink and blue.  So much detail and accents.  Can you see the gold paper cog I made above the flower in the left side picture – steampunk is all the rage!  It’s gold pieces of anything that you add to your Mixed Media pictures. I’m not a fan of painting everything Gesso white and then spraying them, but I’ve ordered my Stampin up spritzer to try my hand at spraying reinkers all over so we’ll see.  I hope this puts a smile on your face.

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

PS – if you have steampunk and want to donate it to me – I’ll gladly take it off your hands!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. booptique
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 16:07:48

    Love this. I agree–this color combo is a winner. Very soothing, sort of. I also loved the torn edges. So often people are afraid to tear. Perfect expample of why they shouldn’t be. Can’t wait to see what you do with the spritzer!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place