Introducing My Art Journal!

Mixed Media has become my life!  I love the freedom it gives me to create and imagine with new paper or embellishments.  Everyday I watch a different video on Youtube and see different creations.  So I decided to purchase my own Art Journal and explore my creative side. I grabbed this one at Big Lots for $3.  The first step in having an art journal is to personalize your cover.

1214131709

The concept of the art journal cover is to put things on it that inspire you or are things you like.  I decided to do the tissue paper technique for the background.  With this technique you start off with white tissue paper and stamp with Staz-on all over the tissue paper.  Then you cover the cover with Mod Podge, place the tissue paper ontop of the cover (you could lay it flat or let the wrinkles form naturally) and then cover the tissue paper with Mod Podge again.  After I inked everything I used my Stampin Up inks and an Aquapainter to color some of the images.  The Mod Podge seals the tissue paper and inks.  Here’s some pictures.

1214131709e 1214131709f

Then I grabbed some of the embellishments I’ve made.  A layered paper flower sprayed with Lindy’s Stamp Gang Brown Label – Jolly Roger Red and a zipper flower I made.  The background was sprayed with Lindy’s Stamp Gang – Crow’s Nest Copper and Buccaneer Bay Blue to give it a shiny look.  Do you see the words “Be Yourself” under the flower?

1214131709b 1214131709c 1214131709d

I added a chipboard key and buckles and then embossed them in gold and Pool Party to give them a patina look.  I cut the letters out using my Cricut and then inked the edges with Pumpkin Pie to give them dimension.

1214131709

I love how it came out!  So many things to look at and inspire me to create Magical things!  So run to the store, get yourself an art journal and let’s have fun!!  Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 17:18:45

    very nice. That is definitely yours, but they make nice gifts.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place