Let it Snow!

It’s Winter here in New England.  Actually it’s snow right now.  Yup 7-9 inches are expected tonight.  Well those shiny sparkly snowflakes inspired my first full page in my Art Journal.

So first I glued two pages together on each side.  I have learned that two pages glued together makes the pages stronger.  Once the pages are dried cover each page with Gesso or White acrylic paint.  This step helps prep and prime the page so you can spray, paint and glue anything on it. Then I Decoupaged various sized papers all around the paper – my goal was to make the bottom green and the top blue.  What was really fun with this page, was that I was able to rip pages from an old dictionary I pulled out of the recycle bin at work – specifically I pulled the pages that defined the word “Snow” and all the words related to it!  You’ll be able to see pictures of that as you scroll down.

1214131806a

Because I LOVE heat embossing, I grabbed my clear, white and Pool Party embossing powder and did a few snowflakes from the Stampin Up Snowflake Soiree set all over my pages.  For the clear ones, I actually went back with my Aqua painter and Island Indigo ink pad and water colored over them to bring out the detail of the snowflake.

1214131807b 1214131807a

Then I grabbed my Tim Holtz Bubbles Stencil and the Lindy’s Stamp Gang Long John Silver spray and sprayed these great shapes all over the pages.

 1214131806d

Then I made this great snowflake using my Tags, Bags and More Cricut cartridge cutting the Phrase snowflake at 3 1/2″.  Then I used my hot glue gun and glued a metal piece on top of the snowflake.  I love how this snowflake came out!

1214131807c

One of the things I’ve learned about art journals is that not everything ends up the way you start.  The other thing is  it doesn’t matter what it looks like as long as YOU like it.  The purpose of my art journal is to learn different techniques and build my confidence using these techniques so even though the page might not end up how it started I’m happy with it!

So right now this is where my Let it Snow page is right now.  I’m thinking I’m going to add a snowman, so we’ll see where this goes!   Just remember there’s no wrong way.  It’s perfect and done when you’re happy with it.

So I pined over this snow page for days.  I finally saw my snowman and here’s his side.

snowman

I love this snowman looking up at the sky where snowflakes are falling.

So for the other side I wanted a tree.  We had gotten a Christmas card with an awesome tree on it and I had to make it.  Here is what I came up with.

Tree

I hope these pages give you inspiration especially when the snow does fly!

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:15:46

    snowman looking up…how adorable

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place