Oh Christmas Tree!

With Christmas time over I have to show you an idea I had using my new Stampin Up Build a Blossom punch in my Art Journal.

Tree

First the background – I used a brick stencil and compound paste to make a 3D texture for the background.  Then using my spritzer I sprayed the background with Real Red and Jolly Roger Red Lindy’s Stamp Gang spray.  I love the Lindy’s Stamp Gang Sprays that I have because they have such a great sheen to them – this set is the Brown set with Moonstruck – love it!  I added some Stampin up Washi tapes, various stamps that had similar fonts and some holiday chipboard pieces I had in my stash from a Hobby Lobby purchase.  Here’s a close up of the background.

20131226_125637

The Tree! – We had gotten a Christmas Card with this same tree on it and I thought BRILLANT!  Plus I had gotten the new Stampin Up Build a Blossom punch and you know how I like to do ‘other’ things with my punches besides what they’re intended for.  So I punched the leaves from an old book and inked the edges with Crumb Cake and Tea Dye Distress ink.  After I glued them all down I outlined them with a black marker and Mod Podged over it to seal everything.  Then I used a Modern Decorative punch for the base and using a brown marker made lines to give it a bark look.

Tree2

I’ve played around with this page some more and I’ve done some journaling around the edges and in various places, but overall I’m very happy with this page.  I hope it inspires you to think outside the box with your punches and see whatelse you can do with them.

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place