Happy Valentine’s Day tag

This week I jumped on the Tim Holtz tag train again and using Tim’s tag as inspiration:

featuredimage

Here’s the tag I made:

feb tag

This tag was so much fun to make.  I started with a manilla tag and just like in Tim’s video I used my inkpads to create a distressed background.  I used Early Expresso, Crumb Cake and Elegant Eggplant, sprayed some water on my craft pad and then dragged the tag thru it.

Once dried, I stamped En Francois in Chocolate Chip.  Then I used a combination of Real Red and Cherry Cobbler to stencil hearts, which were then clear embossed.  I inked the edges with Chocolate Chip and Early Expresso.

The sentiment is from the Stampin up Seasonal Sayings set and was heat embossed in white and then I used a white gel pen to doodle the edges.  I have to tell you this was the hardest part for me.  I wanted to make my sentiment big and bold like Tim’s but then realized even a simple sentiment still makes a big statement.

The heart was a piece of Tim Holtz Grungeboard that was heat embossed with Heat & Stick and then dusted with a Real Red dyed Dazzling Diamonds.  The silver wire and black beads were from my stash and I thought the look of it wrapped around the heart and the lace ‘wings’ gave it a steampunk look.

I used a heart boarder punch on some silver dryer tape.  If you haven’t used this yet – DO IT!  Great tool you can find at your local hardware store at a reasonable price, but has so many uses.  I actually wrapped the arrow in it and then used sandpaper on top to grunge it up before wrapping it with wire.    With this tape you get full coverage on a piece and a nice sheen.  I then used Stampin up Cherry Cobbler tulle as a ruffle bottle for the stamp.

I really like how this tag came out and I was proud of myself for not following Tim’s tag so closely.  I hope you have a very Happy Valentine’s Day.

Have a Magical Day!

Tinalala

 

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place