Oh to be in France

Recently my parents went on vacation to Dieppe, a city in France where a relative was imprisoned during the War of 1812.  While this relative was there he built a ship modeled after one in the harbor.  This ship has passed to the eldest son for generations landing in my mother’s hands for safe keeping.  Being curious we researched its history and off she went.

I of course live vicariously thru her pictures and inspiration around me.  One such inspiration was a painting at a fundraiser my Girl Scouts did that reminded me of my mothers trip to France and the small town feeling that she felt there in the farm lands.

So I took to my art journal to work on shadowing and texture.  To be honest I have a ways to go, but I thought it might inspire you as well.

Let me know what you think.

image

Now I feel like it needs LOTS more flowers but I was so focused on the shadowing of the vines I didn’t even notice the lack of flowers!  Plus with this page I went back to my favorite technique and started with a piece of tissue paper stamped with Staz-on.  I love how it helped make the background look like stucco.  I need to find this window some day!  Maybe in Italy!

I hope it inspired you to look for your window!  Have a Magical Day!

tinalala

 

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place