Hey look it’s snowing -again!

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s been SO long since my last post.  Things have been very crazy here at the LALA household. MD got her license, we are doing college tours, J’s had health issues, my grandmother passed away, it’s Girl Scout cookie season and I’ve been working horrendous hours for work.  However I was able to get downstairs to the craft cave and work on  few things.

First today is Sunday April 3rd and this is what I woke up to outside my window.

image

Yes, it’s snowing again in New England!  It’s not supposed to dump a ton of volume, but it’s enough to be annoying.  The last time we had snow in April was a blizzard on April 1, 1997. I remember it well because we had just taken the gutters off our newly purchased house to put up vinyl siding.  Let’s just say the water in the basement was over my ankles.  Not a great memory.

However your not here to hear about bad memories, you’re here to make good ones!  I was fortunate enough to receive Stampin Up’s What I Love set free during Sale-A-Bration last month.image

This stamp set is the perfect answer to a simple double or triple stamp.  This means each of the three flower stamps at the bottom can be stamped using a different color or the same color at different volumes.  By adding the different colors you create a shading or texture effect to the flower.  I found some amazing color combinations out on the Internet.  Here’s one I’ve been using.  This sheet shows you the different color combos you can use to create the desired effect.  I wish I could tell you where I got it but I can’t remember.

image

I knew I needed to send some cards for birthday and inspiration, so I searched my sources (Pinterest and YouTube) for ideas.  I came across a video from LaQuita at Quitabughandmades.com for her March thank you stay I thought were perfect.  Here’s a link to her blog with all the dimensions and a link to the video. http://www.quitabughandmades.com/2016/03/stampin-up-march-customer-thank-you-card.html

I’m just learning about the multi step stamps so let’s just say I’m not perfect, but here’s the card I made.  I used Island Indigo instead of the blue she used and I used Timeless Treasures with Smoky Slate for the detail on the base of the card.  I love it. Yes I did fussy cut that center flower and actually it wasn’t that difficult to cut. I hate fussing cutting!

image

I actually made 4 of these cards, it was so easy, I was actually encouraged to make anger style card with the same set.

image

This card challenged my layering side.  Stamping directly on the base – scary! However I liked the effect.  I used Elegant Eggplant only and got the shaded effect by stamping off with the second stamp before Stampin it on the card. Love the color combination.

I still haven’t made my inspirational cards yet, but I hope these cards inspire you to make your April birthday cards!  My struggle is always the mailing!

Have a Magical Day!

tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. booptique
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 12:49:17

    This card doesn’t look angry at all!! I challenged my team to do single layer cards last month. So much harder than it seems. You nailed it!! Nice job!~

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place