Butterflies in a unique fold

i might have mentioned it before, but my friends granddaughter (a Brownie Girl Scout) has asked me to be her pen pal!  It’s been a long time since I had a pen pal, but her little notes and personalized cards are so lovely!  I posted before showing her camp card.  This last one she told me how she loves butterflies so I thought I’d send her a unique fold card with butterflies so she could have it stand on her desk to keep her happy.  I searched Pinterest and YouTube for something and finally found France’s Martin’s video here.  http://youtu.be/GX3jYDrlEZU

Here is the card I made!

image

This card is made starting with a basic 8 1/2 X 11 card cut at 5 1/4 X 11.  I was very excited it used a basic piece of card and still gave a unique fold.  I scored the paper at 1 1/2, 3, 5 1/2 and 8 (verify these measurements in Frenchies video to be sure).
image  Then you put your DSP paper on every other piece.  Each one was 5 1/4 long and the widths were 1/4, 2 1/4 and 2 3/4 (again check Frenchies video to confirm)

image

I used Mellon Mambo and I think this is Crushed Curry for my butterflies.  The large butterflies I cut using my Pink Journey Cricut cartridge at 2″ and the smaller ones were dies I had in my stash.  The Wild Wasabi green stamped images are from the Basic Butterfly stamp set.  Here’s a picture of the butterflies I started with.

image

Like I said I wanted the card to stand up, which as you can see here it will.

image

I loved how happy this card is and I know she’ll love the butterflies.  Now to write my letter!  Here’s a close up of the fancy butterfly which I painted with a clear Wink of Stella for some glitter!

image

I’m sure you know someone who needs some inspirational lift to their spirits.  Try making this unique fold and maybe change out the butterflies with flowers, or hearts or Mickey heads!  I hope it inspires you!

Have a Magical day!

tinalala

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. booptique
    May 06, 2016 @ 11:44:40

    Love this!!! And she will too! You are a good soul!

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Christina Thomas

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place