I Painted My First Monet!

I’ve been watching TheArtSherpa on YouTube and loving the painting techniques! I thought I’d share this painting with you.

One of her paintings that really caught my eye is the Girl with a Parasol by Monet.  Here’s the original.

image

I love the colors and the way you can feel movement.  Here’s Cinnamon’s video https://youtu.be/XH4vTMLr_no

I used Cinnamon’s outline to guide me which she offers as a link on the video.  She starts with an under color which gives great shading and detail.  This color is Ochre which is a color I never liked, but now I really love the shading it creates. I tried to stay in the lines cuz hello that’s what we were taught in kindergarten right!

image

 

The thing I learned about Monet was that he used small strokes and lots of blending.  Blending of colors can only be achieved, I have found, when the paint is very wet and fluid. What I learned was that you don’t have to stay in the lines AND if you don’t like the way your painting looks wait for it to dry and paint over it.  Layers with wet paint create the most beautiful blending.  It took me over an hour just to blend the sky and the clouds.  Her dress Made me crazy, lots of steps back and reimagining.  Here’s the first part.

image

The skirt has blue and purple as undertones and then white with a touch of Ochre for kisses of the sun.  I did something awful with her hands – some how one is sword like? However I did get the right skin tone color!

Now here’s the final picture.

image

I love how this picture came out.  I can’t tell you great it feels to finish this picture! I can almost feel the wind blowing her scarf and the heat of the sun! I hope this painting inspires you to pick up your paintbrush and give it a chance!  Now off to the next painting, maybe ballet slippers….or a landscape, or a VanGogh!!

Have a Magical day!

tinalala

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place