Parent College Pre-Packing Woes

As you may remember, MD is moving into College this Friday with much excitement. However can I say one thing – “She’s making me crazy!” Mr Don and I both went to college however neither of us lived on campus so we have no experience on what to expect.  MD is a very organized and responsible you’d lady but right now her procrastination is making me nutz!

As previously posted we’ve purchased numerous amounts of dorm room items and MD organized them as best she could.  However this is what my livingroom looks like right now!

Yes – every inch of our livingroom floor is covered with stuff! Now Mr. Don thinks we’ve purchased far too much stuff, but the reality is she’s probably missing a few things that somehow were on my numerous lists.

With that said as a parent the issue I’m having now is getting my pre-college student moving!! Books need to be ordered, clothes need to be packed, there’s crap in her room that needs to be added to the chaos in the livingroom! We need ACTION!  So I’m doing what u really don’t want to do and instead of letting her figure it out, I’m aggressively walking her through the process.

1. I’ve made her a list of things that must be done each day. I’m hoping she’ll see the joy if crossing off each item once completed.

2. I’m quietly grabbing things out of her room and packing them so she doesn’t forget important things that I’ll have to drive or send to her.

3. I’m having her manage the laundry so she can pack as she folds!

4. I’ve come to realize that as sad as it will be to say goodbye to her at college, leaving my baby to start the journey of her new life, there will be more tears and yelling BEFORE we even get to the dorm!

Well all I can say to you I that everyone gets thru it. Tonight she’s finishing up decorations for her drawers and dorm door and I’ll be sneaking into her room to pull more things she’s forgotten like a good parent would. Hang in there!

Have a Magical Day!!

Tina

 

Comments are closed.

A bit of this. A bit of that.

Cards, paper crafts and stamping

Kathy by Design

Custom Paper Art for All Occasions

Creating Mixed Media Art

Inspiration at your finger tips

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lala's Craftworld

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Helen's Craft Haven...

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Joy's Life

Food, Recipe, DIY & Craft Blog - With Tons of Helpful Tutorials!

Mews from the Pond

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Taylored Expressions

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Elizabeth Saccocia Creative Stampin' Up! Projects

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Obsessed with Scrapbooking

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

kwernerdesign blog

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Creations with

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

Amanda's Crafts and More

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place

http://www.aboverubiesstudio.com/

Blog to share crafts and ideas to make the world a Magical place